Hey! Don’t be such a tight-ass…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s heraldic term is ‘brizure’ – a difference mark used in cadency.
‘Cadency’ – a system of small alterations to differentiate the arms of children from those of its head.
Well, I hope that has cleared things up for everyone…
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

I once knew a chap who sang a bit, and played guitar a bit, but didn’t do it in public. He would occasionally go to pubs to watch singers and bands perform. I hardly ever heard him say anything positive about a performance; he would sit observing and listening, constantly picking fault, and pointing out where the musicians were going wrong, both musically and in their style and presentation.
I think that he was just jealous of them, and really wanted to up there on stage himself, but for some reason daren’t do it. By being so critical, and so lacking in generosity, what he was doing by belittling their attempts, was boosting his own ego, both outwardly and in his own head, and avoiding thoughts of his own lack of confidence and musical shortcomings.
I hate mean-spiritedness in music – I think music is about giving stuff to people. Yes, giving stuff away. The ‘stuff’ being your performance. It doesn’t depend on how much you are being paid for it either. Look at the Rolling Stones, still doing gigs in their sixties; they certainly don’t need the money; they love playing music for people. That’s what they do. You easily can tell if a musician is a stingy person – they, though often competent performers, lack warmth and emotion in their playing or singing. You can almost hear them thinking, ‘Hell, I’m not going to break into a sweat for this little gig… I’ll play my songs through in a ‘professional’ manner, get my money, and go.’ Often these people can be technically brilliant musicians, (perhaps they have studied hard at college to learn how to be rock performers?) but never quite understand why their audiences don’t seem too charmed by, or involved in, their performance. Music is about communicating feeling and emotion – you can’t be stingy with it. Come on guys, touch people, put your heart into it, give it away…

Yes, I suppose I am an old hippy…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, heraldry, music, observations and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hey! Don’t be such a tight-ass…

  1. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    How do you feel about people who have absolutely no musical ability criticizing musicians and singers? Believe me, I try not to be too publicly vocal about my disdain for Justin Bieber and Brittney Spears and some others …

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Well, those people you mention are the audience, they can say what they like! Musicians put themselves up there to be looked at and listened to, they surely don’t expect EVERYBODY to like them, do they? Mm… yes, they probably do…
      Really, my grouse was about mean spirited musicians just showing off and scoring points for the sake of their own egos.

  2. Yvonne Marie says:

    I totally agree with ‘sharing’ music.. I love going to see my local live bands simply for the excitement and energy they shower upon their audience, be that a full house or just a couple of folk having a few beers at their local pub on a Friday night. Some of these bands haven’t been technically perfect; most are just a few creative musicians joining together to become a ‘band’.. wanting to ‘share’ their passions with anyone willing to listen. I love the buzz that moment offers… I feel connected to something wonderful… hopefully avoiding that one drunk, who wants to dance with me, whilst insisting I’m ‘fair game’ as I wear no gold band of exclusion… Lord I deplore those moments!
    Peace ~~ YM

  3. Priya says:

    Any art is best practiced with the joy of it being there, and humility. Anyone who’d like to use it as a mere means to celebrity and money will probably be forgotten in two years. Or made fun of when they lose that grip on the fickle audience.

    Gosh. I sound so know-it-all (tight ass, to quote you). But what the heck.

    • Dave Whatt says:

      No, no, my dear Priya, I agree with you completely. No question of you being a ‘know it all’ – you are intelligent and modest, and your comments are always welcome!

Leave a comment