Pithy snippets…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s Taj Mahal is the ugly one.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 174.
I’m sorry I’m late, but somebody left a heavy bust of Napoleon in my porch.

So, if you learn to play the guitar, and practise really hard, and become very good and famous… you might get a Hull bus named after you.
(Mick Ronson)

‘That shop at the end of your street…’
‘Yes, what about it?’
‘Well it never has anything I want, it’s very cramped, and they are really rude to their customers…’
‘Well it is an inconvenience store you know.’

A single overheard remark:
‘Our Claudia went shush…’

Yes, she was very good-looking, but she had a face that looked like it had never done much laughing.

An observation:
Two very fat ladies coming waddling out of a doorway that says ‘Amazing Grace’ over the top of it – ah, of course, it’s a church.

On Tuesday I was so bored I resorted to ‘Mr Sheen’-ing the dusty tops of my skirting boards.

Today’s sound is that of a Mint Imperial rolling off a table onto a hard polished floor.
(MI)

A single overheard remark:
‘I’ll speak to you in my jeans…’

‘Do you have any hobbies or pastimes?’
‘Well, no, not really…’
‘Anything?’
‘Well, I do like to burn marks on the backs of the bus seats with my cigarette lighter – I like the patterns it makes… and the smell…’
‘Well, that’s something I suppose. Perhaps we could arrange for you to get an arts grant so that you can develop it…’

I was going to park at the back of the church, but I noticed that they’ve started a ‘Pray and Display’ scheme.

The dentist’s waiting room this morning was full of people with pointed noses. I expect he’s branching out and going in for a bit of nose sharpening on the side.

An observation:
Oh look, there’s the now rather chubby Steven Seagal accompanied by his chubby scruffy family walking through the Dulltown Interchange. I’m sure it’s him – see, that he’s still got his pony tail! (S.S.)

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, conversation, cool, existentialism, fashion, Grumpiness, Hull.UK., humour, information, irony, observations, people, religion, serendipity, smiling, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment