Mail art postcard No. 4462…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s existential angst is centred around the word ‘undergarments’.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

This morning dear reader, I thought that we might have a quick look at another of my recently made ‘mail art’ collage postcards. (Mail Art)

WP F 4462As usual, this is a juxtaposition (I love that word!) of a couple of clippings from that cheap and gaudy TV guide magazine ‘What’s On TV’, but this time it features not an actor, but a politician – politicians, ah, they always deserve a bit of ridicule. Yes, this is Nigel Farage leader of UKIP, the United Kingdom Independence Party. Hang on a minute… let me scroll the page up a bit, I don’t like the way he’s staring at me… Ah, that’s better! He is a strange-looking chap though isn’t he? Notice how one side of his mouth goes down and the other side goes up – not really a smile is it? I suppose it’s handy for a politician though, he can be hard and cunning, but appear warm and friendly at the same time. The upper part of his face looks fairly normal, but… Don’t look at the eyes!… Don’t look at the eyes!…
Anyway, the caption… Well, it’s pretty random, not a great deal of thought went into its choice, but when I picked it up and put it next to Nige’s photo I thought, hm… that’s alright!… I’ll leave it up to you, my dear reader, to somehow connect the face and the caption – do let your imagination run free… Think of it as a surrealist exercise… but don’t let it stay with you, to invade your dreams, and wake you up sweating in the night…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, design, dreaming, existentialism, humour, information, mind, observations, photography, seeing, serendipity, style, surrealism, sweating, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mail art postcard No. 4462…

  1. I just misread that as “swearing in the night” – more probable in my case – nasty man, nasty politics, nasty friends (former DJ etc…)

Leave a Reply

