Three faces in Leeds market…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s letter of the alphabet is the capital K – a very spiky letter is the capital K – Joseph K from The Trial… or, oh dear, images of the Ku Klux Klan… or perhaps just a Swiss Army Knife standing up demonstrating  semaphore with a couple of its larger blades?…
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

DSCN3496Here’s a picture I took, or shall we say ‘captured’ – I notice that on Flickr some people when commenting on someone’s photo will say, ‘nice capture!’ I’m not sure I like that… So, here’s a picture I took, in the nearby city of Leeds a few months ago. It shows a stall in the large indoor market in the city centre.
It was the big growling tiger that caught my attention initially, but I quickly decided that the two humans below would certainly balance the composition nicely.
I must have been feeling unusually confident that day because I actually asked these two if I could take their picture – I’m usually a bit shy on these occasions. They nodded, but I think they’d rather I’d bought a couple of their rugs instead – business seemed quiet that afternoon.
When I upload it to Flickr I think I’ll give it the title ‘Three faces’… or does that sound a bit arty-farty? I do like the way the lady has her hand up to her face and is avoiding the camera. She seems to be looking across to her companion in a ‘meaningful’ way. I’m not sure whether he is smiling or not – am I mistaken, or is there a bit of drama going on here? What do you think?… I think the tiger is at the back of it all…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, colours, drama, humour, information, observations, people, photography, serendipity, style, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

