Mail Art Postcard. No. 4485…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s odd, but familiar smell is that of freshly sharpened pencils.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Shall we look at another of my recent ‘mail art‘ one-off postcards dear reader?

4485 DSCN3563Yes, I know… it’s yet another of my ‘transplanted eyes’ ones. Just a ripped out picture from the only magazine that I regularly buy, the 56 pence a week What’s On TV – I always feel that the name should have a question mark after it, but it hasn’t, it’s statement not a question… By the way, I must say that I never actually read it – it’s pretty brash and awful – I just look at their TV listings… Sorry, I’m rambling…
I don’t know whose eyes these are, but the face appears to be that of someone called Maggie Gylle… Ah, yes, Maggie Gyllenhaal, I’ve heard the name somewhere, I expect she’s quite famous…
Anyway, isn’t this striking? Whoa! Them eyes really jump out at you! I think her hood or scarf helps too – it seem to make Maggie’s face recede and the stuck-on eyes come forward – oh, isn’t our visual sense sophisticated? Even though this is completely outlandish, you still can’t help reading the eyes and the face as one can you?
I think this is a great postcard – I’d be pleased if someone sent me it – I can’t take a great deal of credit for the thing really, other than for the bit of judgement in choosing to combine these two images from my pile of snippings – let’s give most of the credit to serendipity… oh, and of course to What’s On TV

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in advertising, art, brain, colours, cool, design, humour, information, photography, seeing, serendipity, style, surrealism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

