Getting our message across…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s pamphlet… isn’t that a great word? Today’s pamphlet is the religious one with the pale pastel colours and the picture of the tall long-haired bearded chap surrounded by adoring rosy-cheeked children.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

‘You know Sir Giles, it seems to me that young people are just not interested in politics…’
‘Hm…’
‘I suppose they find it a bit dry, and too intellectual for them…’
‘Intellectual?… Yes, I suppose so…’
‘Well, I’ve been working on something to draw them in.’
‘Oh?…’
‘Yes… You will be aware that youngsters nowadays seem to be very keen on those loud childish computer games, and all that sort of mystical shit?’
‘Yes, Charles, I believe that that is the case.’
‘Well, if we were to develop something on those lines, we could possibly get them to connect to the party, and even start them off voting for us…’
‘Another brandy Charles?’
‘Thank you Sir Giles, don’t mind if I do… Look sir, let me just quickly run this past you.’
‘Oh, alright, proceed…’
‘Okay… the Great Lord Cave Dameron…’
‘Cave Dameron?’
‘Yes…’
‘Oh, I see… Go on…’
‘Cave Dameron and his trusty young sidekick/servant Click Negg, don their magic shining blue armour and venture forth from the borders of Downingland to confront the usurpers to The Power, the Band of Milli, with their terrible warrior lord, The Great Balls…’
‘Look Charles, I’m sorry, but I really must be off in a minute or two, my Bentley’s on a meter…’
‘Anyway, it results in lots of noise, and pleb slaying, and flames, and gunpowder, and coloured flags…’
‘Yes?…’
‘But just when you think it’s all going well, a new foe suddenly appears out of the Blue…’
‘Oh?…’
‘Yes! Gaping mouthed and crawling slowly out of the deepest stinking pit of hell…’
‘Yes?’
‘There appears…’
‘Yes?’
‘Oh, this is the best bit…’
‘Charles, do get on with it!’
‘Sorry sir, There appears… Madame de Farage, and her continental guillotine squad…’
‘Oh, I like that!… Do we win in the end though?’
‘Of course sir…’
‘Have you got all of this printed out?’
‘Oh yes, it’s only a couple of pages so far…’
‘Alright, give me a copy and I’ll run it past David in the morning and we’ll see what he says.’
‘Oh thank you Giles, that’s great!’
‘By the way…’
‘Yes sir?’
‘Can I be in it?’
‘Of course sir…’
‘Shiny blue armour you say?’
‘Oh yes…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in advertising, brain, conversation, cool, dreaming, humour, information, irony, magic, religion, style, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

