Small, but pithy items…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s great name for an artist is Otto Dix. (O.D.)
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 233.
I’m sorry I’m late, but beautiful women were throwing themselves at me all the way into town.

A single overheard, and possibly misheard, remark:
‘Look down there chuck finger mole…’

I learned a new word yesterday. I was walking past a poster advertising KFC cardboard tubs of golden brown chicken things and saw the word ‘sharesies’. Ah, it always cheers me up when I learn something new…

I have just finished building my electronic apparatus for isolating the frequencies of the hidden messages embedded in the BBC’s radio programmes. So far I have only tried it on their classical music station BBC Radio 3. I have managed to capture a soothing mature male voice repeatedly saying, ‘The world is a lovely place, it is warm and it is cosy; it is filled with lovely clever music to flatter you, calm you, and reassure you… just sit back, close your eyes, and listen… The world is a lovely place, it is warm and…’

I’m thinking of changing my name to Denzil Pencil.

Yes, there is a big gap in my education. Back then, when I was at art school, we didn’t have the lessons in bullshitting and networking that the lucky students have now. Oh, if only I’d developed those skills… I could have been a famous and well-off painter, print maker, or photographer, or something… Oh, I wonder if I could sue the college for failing in its duty to prepare me for… Oh, of course, the college doesn’t exist anymore… Damn!…

A single overheard remark:
‘Someone got whimsy…’

Oh, hello! What’s this?… A new item of spam in my comments box; it seems to be from someone called ‘magazine stars’:
‘What i do not understand is actually how you’re actually a lot more well-appreciated than you might be now. You’re very intelligent. You realize therefore significantly when it comes to this topic, made me in my view believe it from a lot of varied angles. It’s like men and women don’t seem to be fascinated unless it’s something to accomplish with girl gaga! Your own stuffs nice. Always care for it up!’
Well thank you ‘magazine stars’, I will certainly give some thought to what you have said.

‘I don’t like him…’
‘Oh, why not?’
‘He revels in acronyms!…’
‘Ah…’

 

 

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in advertising, art, brain, conversation, dreaming, Dulltown, existentialism, fashion, Hull.UK., humour, information, irony, learning, music, observations, serendipity, sex, style, surrealism, thinking, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

