Can we call this a portrait?…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s joke is the one about the High Court Judge, the bicycle saddle, and the sprig of holly. Oh, how we guffawed and chuckled down the corridors of power!…
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

DSCN3521Yes, it was back in July, I was on the upper deck of a bus, sitting immediately behind this chap; I had a very good view of the details of the back of his impressive head and neck. After we had travelled a few stops I decided that I should record the moment, and I got my little camera out.
Should I tap him on the shoulder and say, ‘excuse me, do you mind if I photograph the back of your head? – It really is quite interesting…’ He’s probably a very nice chap, and would have turned and said, ‘Yes, go ahead! People are always asking me that…’
Of course, I didn’t though. I surreptitiously let the camera do a quick focus and exposure reading on the main subject, panned to the left a little to get some overexposed passing leaves and branches in the shot, and click!…
Anyway, if the chap ever sees this on t’interweb, I hope he doesn’t mind his head being featured in my picture; actually, I wonder if he’d even recognise himself? Would you recognise yourself from a picture of the back of your head? I don’t think I would, I mean it’s not often that you see the back of your own head, is it?…

T’interweb.
Corridors of power.

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, colours, Dulltown, existentialism, Hull.UK., humour, information, observations, people, seeing, serendipity, style, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Can we call this a portrait?…

  1. Abby says:

    Hello there Dave! I do like this photo/story! I think it’s ok to do that. It reminds me of a lyric from the following song (not meaning to be rude to the man in the photo – but being a bit rude anyway):

    By the way, so very sorry I asked you for permission to use your photo and then didn’t get back to you. Disappointingly I had to go with other people’s ideas of what a ‘rock album’ cover should look like, so it turned out not what I would’ve chosen. Boo! Happy New Year, Abby.

    • Dave Whatt says:

      My Dear Abby,
      Nice to hear from you!
      I tried the link to Pulp, but unfortunately Jarvis brings me out in boils, so I didn’t listen all the way through… Oops! Sorry!

      Hey, not to worry about not getting back about the album cover etc… And a happy N.Y. to you my dear!

Leave a Reply

