Some small, but pithy items…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s featured fruit is the jovial rosy-cheeked pomegranate.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 237.
I’m sorry I’m late, but I had to transpose my scherzo.

Part of a phone call overheard in the bus station (teenage girl)
‘I don’t care…
I don’t care…
I don’t care!… No!…
I don’t care!…
I get angry real fucking easy!…
You what?…
Yeah, yeah, whatever!…
It’s your fault!…
It’s your fault!…
Are you fucking serious?…
I don’t care…
I don’t care…
No, I don’t fucking care…’

It was alright sitting opposite the bearded man on the train who was repeatedly sniffing loudly and opening and snapping shut his spectacles case, but when he started quietly singing an Elton John song I moved to another seat…

A single overheard remark:
‘To Dave’s the day!…’

Yesterday there was a youth riding a very small bicycle, a child’s one, at very high speed through the pedestrians on one of Dulltown’s main shopping streets. Just for an instant I glimpsed all the thought bubbles hovering over people’s heads as they watched him whizz past: ‘Go on! Fall off!…’ ‘Crash you bugger!…’ ‘Hit that lamp-post you idiot!…’ ‘Hey you! Dick-head! Get a life!…’ ‘Oh dear, I think I might have left my oven on…’ etc…

‘There is nothing in life quite so depressing as a gallery full of dull art…’
Professor Mouldie (Leeds 2015)

Oh, what’s this? It’s an item of spam in my comments box; it’s from someone called ‘raise health’.
‘all the time I used to read smaller content that also clear their motive, and that is also happening with this piece of writing which I am reading here – this topic is near to my heart – cheers! exactly where you are contact details though?’
Well thank you ‘raise health’ I will certainly bear in mind what you have said.

His face has the look of someone who for most of his life has been puzzled…

Now, that’s odd! Lots of people from US TV shows seem to have moved here to Dulltown and got jobs in the Tesco supermarket. Look, there’s the head of CSI: Miami opening boxes of cabbages, and there on the checkouts is Agent Van Pelt from The Mentalist… oh yes, and over there busily rearranging the trolleys are Dr House and Dr Koothrappali…
Links 2  3  4

A single overheard remark:
‘I’ve got two like bubbles…’

 

 

 

 

 

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, conversation, drama, dreaming, Dulltown, existentialism, Grumpiness, Hull.UK., humour, information, observations, people, phones, seeing, serendipity, style, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

