Some overheard and misheard snatches of cafe conversation…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s expletive is ‘Cods my lifekins!’ – a C17th English oath. I’m not sure if that’s pronounced ‘liffikins’ or ‘life-kins’, still, I think I’ll try to remember to slip it into conversation  today:
‘Cods my lifekins Stella! Watch what you are doing with that sodding lampshade!…’
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

‘In his present spite…’
‘Next I ear, then next I ear…’
‘It was free to butter Mark.’
‘Get ridda one now!’
‘Bed spent elastic now to do.’
‘Femmusay?…’
‘Nothing worth having from  the draw line.’
‘A puppy onesie?’
‘In the Spanish shop with Joan.’
‘They make my ellaraise.’
‘I’m here with useless!…’
‘More munnick umming?…’
‘Hey, you know those string classes?’
‘I’m thinking shake sample, or pills.’
‘I aren’t saying it was just the lamping did it.’
‘An epoch sounding pamp.’
‘He diddle-diddle red one then.’
‘The guy in the ull-jack?’
‘Griss mon! Griss mon!…’
‘Furry nuff, I got a nose for it Tom.’
‘Another manager like Eustace?’
‘Three or four hundred can directly feel it.’
‘Bloody hymns and stuff like that!’
‘It was all fencing by reckoning.’
‘Clouding and laxity?…’
‘More money and wholesale bags…’
‘The nominee was singing in her face.’
‘He wanted to swap the Pantheon…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in brain, conversation, drama, dreaming, Dulltown, existentialism, expletives, Hull.UK., humour, information, mind, observations, people, poetry, serendipity, style, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Some overheard and misheard snatches of cafe conversation…

  1. memadtwo says:

    I took your overheard phrases and plugged them into haiku generator…interesting results, including

    Femmusay’s money.
    diddle of the I!
    The was is though.

    http://www.languageisavirus.com/interactive-haiku-generator.html?ac=Generate#.VJ9waJ0HCA

  2. memadtwo says:

    I kind of like “diddle of the I” as well. A good substitute for “shiver me timbers” maybe.

Leave a Reply

