It’s the nature of creativity…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s zebra is the black and white spotted one.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Where are we now?… Oh yes, Monday morning…
Saturday lunchtime, after typing in my blog post, I ate a small meal of tinned curried mackerel with a couple of tomatoes on toast, and then, in an unusual burst of optimism, possibly sparked by that healthy oily fish, I switched on my computer with the DAW on it. That’s a ‘digital audio workstation’, a sort of ‘virtual’ recording studio.
I had made a tentative start on a new piece of music several weeks ago, but due to existential apathy I hadn’t revisited it since. The piece involved some audio clips I had recorded from BBC radio (that’s probably illegal, but who really cares?). Some were from an annoying political interview with lots of competitive interrupting and with the participants deliberately talking over each other’s words, and one or two from a posh-voiced woman on the BBC’s classical music station gushing on about some newly released opera cd.
My idea was to arrange the voice clips over some kind of repetitive drum pattern and some lush 1980s synthesiser sounds. I do my music rather like the way I do my art – with plenty of spur-of-the-moment improvisation and also allowing the thing grow spontaneously from nowhere in particular.
Anyway, I spent several hours of Saturday afternoon fiddling about with the clips and the sounds, adding things, and erasing things, and moving things about. By about four o’clock I was getting a bit weary and my ears had become ‘tired’, and I decided to stop before I made a complete pig’s ear of the whole thing. I played the full thing back, (just over two minutes long so far) and made a rough old-style audio cassette copy of it so that I could play it back in the kitchen (I have an old portable cassette player in there for just such a purpose – the quality is poor, but it enables me to listen to my recordings in a different ‘atmosphere’ and with ‘fresh ears’, when I am chopping vegetables for instance). So, as I recorded it and listened to it I thought, ‘This is awful!… who would want to listen to this cacophony?… It’s also a bit dull… and it’s very annoying…’
I went out for a walk and drifted into town feeling a bit grumpy and that I had just wasted the whole afternoon. I got to my favourite cafe an hour before closing time and had a pot of green tea and dark double chocolate muffin, which surprisingly didn’t seem to cheer me up much…
After that I did a bit of shopping in the supermarket and returned home.
As I unpacked my groceries and started to prepare food for my evening meal I dropped the cassette into the machine and played back my new tune. It was brilliant!… The best thing since sliced bread!… How could I have been so deluded earlier on?…
But isn’t this just the way creativity is dear reader? Of, course it wasn’t really brilliant, but I was hearing it after a gap of an hour or two, and I had gained a bit of perspective on the thing; also I had consumed a nice dose of caffeine from the tea and chocolate!…
This is the nature of art. You have to think that the stuff you do is great now and again, but it is essential that you are self-critical too – the most boring artists are the ones who are confident all the time, believe their own bullshit, and never stop and consider the worth of what they are doing, and whether it might actually be a load of bollocks…
I think my new piece is probably alright… not rubbish, and probably not brilliant either.

I’ll bet you are itching to hear my new piece dear reader, but I’m afraid it’s still not finished. I do have several of my ‘tunes’ available on SoundCloud though, if you’d like to have a listen to them…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, existentialism, Grumpiness, humour, information, music, observations, serendipity, surrealism, thinking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

