Maybe a new watch?…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s featured letter of the alphabet is the capital ‘O’ – it’s a very useful letter because it’s the shape of the mouth of someone who is saying ‘Oh…’.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

‘Mummy…’
‘Yes Dear?’
‘Watches…’
‘Yes?…’
‘I’m puzzled.’
‘Oh, what about Dear?’
‘Watches…’
‘Would you like to enlarge on that?’
‘Well Mum, watches are little clever devices for telling us what time it is…’
‘Correct…’
‘…and you can buy one for… How much?’
‘Oh, £3.99, or maybe £9.99?… Why? Do you want one?’
‘I don’t know… but why do people spend lots of money on them, even thousands of pounds?’
‘Well Dear…’
‘…and do the expensive ones tell the time better than the cheap ones?’
‘No, not really…’
‘So why…?’
‘Because expensive watches are not for telling the time by.’
‘No?’
‘No, they are for showing off, they are jewellery.’
‘So they buy shiny heavy gold watches, that look as if they cost a lot… so that other people will notice them and get an idea of how much money these people have, and see that they can afford to squander it on something that’s purpose is… pretty ordinary, really…’
‘Yes Dear.’
‘Just as I thought Mum… It’s a bit like having special matches, handmade from rare tropical hardwoods, to light your cigars with… and having special diamond-studded ebony matchboxes to keep them in…’
‘Do people really have those?’
‘I don’t think so, but that’s what it would be like…’
‘Hm… I suppose so.’
‘Mum…’
‘Yes?’
‘I think, when I grow up, even if I ever get really rich… I’d have a £3.99 watch.’
‘I’m very glad to hear it Dear. Do you think that one day you might be rich?’
‘Probably not Mum. Rich people are usually pretty awful, they’ve got no perspective on the real world…’
‘Quite right… I think I might buy you a nice £3.99 watch…’
‘Thanks Mum… That would be nice, I’d like a red one please.’
‘Right ho…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in brain, conversation, cool, dreaming, fashion, humour, information, learning, money, people, thinking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

