Yes, I think I’ll call it ‘Orange and Green’…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s instruction is to bind them together with coarse tarry string, making sure that the pinched ends are still exposed, and then slowly dip the completed bundle into the tub of heated emollient, then give it a quick surprise plunge and an enthusiastic and vigorous shake around.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

I think it might be time for another of my recent photographs:

DSCN3580So, dear reader, what do you make of this?…
I suppose the word ‘minimal’ might spring to mind, but that wouldn’t be quite right, would it? There is far too much lively action in the grasses and weeds for it to be a ‘minimal’ photograph. Of course another choice of word might be ‘boring’, but we certainly don’t want to wander down that path, do we?
It is a bit of a puzzle though… I mean, what the hell is that big orange rectangle, standing there not doing very much, on its skinny black legs? I think it might be just the back of a sign, the other side of which might say something like ‘Car Park’, or ‘Tesco’s’, or ‘Petroleum Spirit’, or ‘Plangent’, or ‘Concupiscence’, etc. See, it’s getting more interesting as we go on dear reader….
When I eventually upload it to my Flickr page I might call it ‘Orange and Green’ – that’s pretty straightforward and to the point, isn’t it? It also sounds a little bit ‘arty’, as if I actually know what I’m doing.
Just looking at the photo as I am thinking of rounding off this bit of text, I’m getting a feeling of Japan in there somewhere – I think it’s those gently waving yellow fronds in front of the plain evenly-coloured background…
Oh, and do you like the way I have carefully cropped the picture around the edges of the rectangle to give it an even border at the top and at each side? It sort of ‘stabilises’ it in the composition, or does that sound a little bit too arty for you?… Still, as a ‘minimalist’ picture, I do like it…

(Flickr Page)

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in advertising, art, brain, colours, dreaming, green, Hull.UK., humour, information, mind, photography, seeing, serendipity, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yes, I think I’ll call it ‘Orange and Green’…

  1. claradoodles says:

    Wow, thats actually quite cool! I could do so much with that, if it was on my street. In fact I’m surprised it hasn’t been sprayed on already, but maybe you don’t get hooligans in Dulltown. I would call this something terribly arty farty like “Wasteland Screams At Man’s Audacity”! Anyway, heading on to your Flickr page. 😀

    • Dave Whatt says:

      ‘Hooligans’ – Yes, I think we have some of those here, I expect they couldn’t be bothered making their way through the long grass… ‘Wasteland screams…etc.’ Hm… Jolly good!

Leave a Reply

