Mail art postcard No. 4513…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s existential angst is centred around the shape of the question mark.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Hey dear reader, would you like to see another of my recent mail art postcards?

W F 4513 DSCN3763‘So Dave, tell me, what’s this one all about?’
‘Well Stella, it’s called ‘Leather Organiser’.
‘I didn’t ask what it was called David, I asked what it was about…’

Yes, what is it about? (By the way, isn’t the shape of the question mark nice? Just look at it – the way it curves round in that cute ‘asking’ sort of way…)
Obviously this is just a piece of fluorescent card with a couple of snippets from an old copy of that awful TV listings magazine What’s On TV stuck on it. I regularly have a good thumb through those thin pages and cut out any images that might make amusing mini-collages. I always find plenty of suitable eyes and mouths – they are great for transplanting onto people and animal faces; I also cut out pieces of interesting text too…
What is a ‘Leather Organiser’  – I’d really like it to be an actual person whose job is to organise leather in some way, but I think that it’s probably just some expensive fashion accessory that you keep all your everyday crap in…
Still, I think this card works quite well; it certainly has a surreal and sinister feel about it, what do you think?…
‘Look here Mary, your wallet, your gloves, your shoes, your nice going-out belt, and the holster for your 357 Magnum revolver are all scattered around your bedroom floor – and look, what’s your pony saddle doing on your dressing table? I think you might require a visit to the ‘Leather Organiser’…’
‘Oh no! Not the ‘Leather Organiser’! Really, I will have the place tidied up in a flash, just you see!’
‘No Mary, I’m sorry, it’s too late, it’s a the ‘Leather Organiser’ for you, first thing in the morning…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in advertising, art, brain, conversation, drama, existentialism, fashion, photography, seeing, serendipity, surrealism, TV, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

