Some more smallish items…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s architectural term is ‘donjon’ – the principal tower of a castle, also known as the ‘keep’, containing sufficient accommodation to serve as the living-quarters permanently or in times of siege.
The last time my castle was besieged I stayed in my donjon all the time; I watched a hell of a lot of daytime television…
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No 244.
I’m sorry I’m late, but I had to do a bit of work on my deportment.

A single overheard remark:
‘To be able to do all the things that I want to do…’

It’s going to be a real shock when we discover life on another planet – oh, how embarrassed we’ll be when we find out that they stopped being greedy and violent several centuries ago… Red faces all round I think…

‘So, why did you become a doctor?’
‘Just keep still for a moment or two…’
‘Was it to help people, relieve pain and suffering, and be a benefit to humanity?’
‘Just lift your shirt up for me…’
‘Or was it so that you could be in a position of power over anxious and vulnerable people whilst earning loads and loads of money? Ouch!…’
‘Now do try to relax!…’
‘I expect you play a lot of golf…’
‘No, actually I…’
‘Ouch!…’

He used to be a bricklayer, but in his later years he decided to throw in the trowel…

Isn’t it funny that ‘professional’ drivers, the ones who drive buses, taxis, police cars, and lorries for a living, are the ones you most often see driving through red lights? You’d think that they’d be a bit more ‘professional’ wouldn’t you?…

A single overheard remark:
‘Did you wake up with a smell?…’

An observation:
All the people in town today had serene, but stupid expressions on their faces. I think the council they are putting something in the water…

A single overheard remark:
‘I opened the door to leave my house and there they were!…’

 

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in architecture, brain, conversation, Dulltown, existentialism, history, Hull.UK., humour, information, observations, serendipity, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

