The tiny sculpture…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s warthog is the one flicking cigar ash out of the window of his BMW as he waits at the lights.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Yes, I suppose all this ‘art school days reminiscences/old sculpture resurrection’ thing might be turning into something of a serial, but no, this post should be the final episode. A week or two ago I started off by going on about my ‘Existence Meter’ piece that I made at art school a long time ago, then I went on about adapting another piece of work from that period to produce something which is now called ‘Black-body Radiation’
Well, there was a small rectangle, say about four-inches by two-and-a-half-inches, of quarter-inch thick aluminium (‘aluminum’ for my US readers) left over from converting the ‘white shoebox’ piece into the ‘B-B Radiation’ piece – I hope you are following all this dear reader… It seemed a pity to throw it into the rubbish bin, to end up in some land-fill somewhere, so I decided that I should make a tiny sculpture out of it – oh, look!…
Over there, in my junk box, there are some aluminium cupboard door knobs that used to be on my kitchen cupboard doors. Perhaps I could use them in the new work? Perhaps the thing should be like a face, a profile, and the knobs could be polished up and attached as the eyes!…

DSCN3837Here he is! There was a lot of sawing and filing and rubbing down, but he polished up nice didn’t he? If I’d not included the matchbox for scale it would have been difficult to judge the size wouldn’t it? Hm, you know, he’d look rather good if he was about ten metres tall, don’t you think? Perhaps one day, when I’m very very rich, I’ll…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, design, dreaming, green, history, humour, information, photography, sculpture, serendipity, surrealism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

