Think I’ll call it ‘Blue, Red, Green’…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s existential angst is centred around the idea of wasps.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

DSCN3639
Here’s another of my pictures from last year, was it September, or perhaps October, not that that matters I suppose? Yes, you are right dear reader, this one is about ‘composition’, well, it’s not really ‘about’ composition is it? But perhaps if the elements had been arranged slightly differently it would have been a pretty boring photograph, but as it is it is a ‘fairly alright’ photograph. Oh dear, I think this might be turning into a workshop on composition…
Right now class, listen to me, and stop messing with your phones please. You… you at the back, you with the leopard skin top, oh it’s you Maud; right then, what is it, in this composition, that makes this a ‘fairly alright’ photograph, instead of it being a ‘very ordinary’ one Maud? Yes, you are correct, it’s the fact that the photographer, me, has arrange the elements so that that strikingly blue pipe is vertical in the frame and is parallel to the edge of the frame – Dmitri, please stop yawning like that, you’ll have everyone at it… Yes, Jean-Paul, what have you to say?… Yes, I was standing on a little bridge over the drain, that’s how I managed to get the pipe more or less parallel without much perspective tapering. No Khaled, don’t write down ‘perspective tapering’ it’s not a technical term, I just made it up… Now, what about the red ball? No, Rachel, I’m leaving the plastic burger tray until later, yes, I know it leads the eye into the picture… and no, I have no idea what the floating green stuff is, it’s not my area of expertise… Bob, please stop doing that with your… Ah! There goes the bell…

Notes:
I’m not sure I like the ‘as it is it is a’ in the middle of that early sentence, and I see that there are two separate uses of ‘that that’ in this piece… Hm…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, colours, existentialism, green, information, learning, photography, seeing, serendipity, surrealism, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

