Some short items…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s possible name for my new band is ‘Blues Shrubbery’.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 246.
I’m sorry I’m late, but I was teaching my dog how to eat quietly.

A single overheard (possibly misheard) remark:
‘What do you call a pug-doggy? A skirting-board?…’

‘Dave…’
‘What?’
‘Do you carry a comb with you?’
‘No…’
‘Hm…
‘What do you mean by “Hm…”?’
‘Oh, nothing…’

Oh, hello, what’s this? Ah, an item of spam in my comments box… It seems to be from someone called ‘uberhacks-car-town’:
‘Hello, I guess that i saw you visited my web site thence i came to “return the favor”.I’m trying to notice things to meliorte my World Wide Web land site! presuppose its ok to utilisation a ffew of your ideas!!’
Dear uberhacks-car-town, how very nice to hear from you, I’m eagerly looking forward to any future communications that you may send.

I wonder if Gibson still make that nice smelling guitar polish that they used to do? I must Google it…

Here’s a nice phrase I heard on Radio 3, the BBC’s classical music station here in the UK. It was some chap doing a review of a new recording.
‘Conveying naked terror in those deadweight sounds…’ Hm, I think that I’d like to hear that, I like a bit of naked terror in my music…

‘It must be really awful for teenage kids…’
‘Eh?… Why?…’
‘Well, all the best teenage styles have been done, they’ve been used up…’
‘Oh?…’
‘You know, punk, goth, new romantic, emo, all that sort of thing… they’re all old now…’
‘Yes, but they can still…’
‘No really, can you imagine the embarrassment of deciding to be a punk, and your mum saying to you, ‘Oh, that’s nice! You look just like your granddad in his punk days…’
‘Mm… See what you mean…’

A single overheard remark:
‘He was born on Easter Tuesday because Easter was late…’

‘He’ll never be a really good musician…’
‘Oh? Why do you say that Dave? He plays quite well.’
‘It’s because playing music to people isn’t really like having a job, the best musicians go the extra mile for people, they sweat a bit, and they give their best, no matter how much, or how little they are being paid. Playing music well is like, giving it away!… Some people are too emotionally and financially miserly to even think of doing that… and he’s one of ’em…’
‘Mm, right…’

 

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in brain, conversation, cool, dreaming, Dulltown, existentialism, fashion, guitars, history, Hull.UK., humour, information, money, music, serendipity, style, surrealism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

