Think I’ll call this one ‘Spillage with leaves’…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s colours are: brown, brown, brown, crimson lake, brown, brown, and brown.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

DSCN3618Here’s a photograph I took last September. I uploaded it to my Flickr page a few days ago, but didn’t intend to write anything about it here – however, as it has had a few ‘likes’ I realise that it is possibly a bit most interesting and possibly a ‘better’ picture than I thought it was.

What do you reckon that the liquid is? I think it’s probably milk – definitely looks ‘milky’ to me; see the way it has a slight blue tinge at its edges, milk does that. Yes, it’s another of my ‘pavement/gutter photographs’ which obviously I take looking straight down at the ground. One has to be very careful not to get one’s great silly feet in the frame doing this. When taking these pictures I adopt a stance with legs wide apart – yes, it does look very silly, I wait until there’s no one around and then snap it quickly.
The idea behind this technique is that because downwards-looking pictures are not that common the viewer initially will assume the subject to be vertical, perhaps in this case showing something stuck on a concrete wall?
If you half close your eyes and squint at it, the white shape could be a nice thermonuclear device going off – see the great clouds of shite spreading horizontally in the breeze across the Nevada desert, and probably heading straight for Las Vegas…
What about those leaves? Some are still green, but some are turning brown; it is September… I have no idea what bush or tree they are from, and actually I don’t really care. (Please don’t bother getting in touch to tell me!)
‘So, Watson, take a look. What can you deduce from this arrangement of items spread out before you?’
‘Well, my dear Holmes, there has obviously been a spot of wind recently, which was strong enough to detach even the odd green leaf from the tree. The wind carried the leaves across the area and only the ones which were caught in the sticky milk were retained, the others being blown away to other parts.’
“Sticky milk’ Watson?’
‘Yes Holmes, sticky milk…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, colours, humour, information, observations, photography, seeing, serendipity, surrealism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

