A childhood memory…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s joke is the one about the Prime Minister’s trouser legs being eaten by the prize pig. Oh, how we chortled as we crouched behind the cow shed…
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Here’s a recycled old post from the dark days when I was blogging on something called Myspace.

When I was a young lad I used to be taken out for weekly Sunday morning walks by my dad. We’d walk around Hull’s docks and the river front until about noon when I’d wander off home and he’d pop into the Red Lion or the Windmill pub for a pint of beer. These walks were quite fascinating, and having been a seafaring man, he told me lots of interesting stuff about ships, docks, lock gates, davits, anthrax, mud, timber, jellyfish, masts, Plimsoll lines, signalling flags, ropes, steam whistles, coal, bollards, floating mines, boilers, dredging, binnacles, flying fish, bridge telegraphs, and loud hailers…
One nice sunny Sunday, we were strolling along, and he suddenly exclaimed, ‘Quick!… Look over there!…’ and pointed with his finger. I looked into the open doorway of what turned out to be an abattoir, just in time to see a cow being shot in the head and it crashing dead to the floor… Thanks Dad…
My dad thought that I had always been a bit too sensitive, and was possibly a bit of a sissy (maybe I was, and perhaps I still am?) and that I needed a ‘bit of toughening up’ – he obviously thought that a glimpse of that great big cow violently meeting its maker might do the trick; I don’t think it did though…
But then again, these days I can cheerfully eat the occasional roast beef and salad sandwich without dredging up any old upsetting childhood memories… Me, I’m a tough guy now…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in brain, drama, Dulltown, existentialism, history, Hull.UK., humour, information, learning, observations, serendipity, surrealism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

