Some more titchy items…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s Victorian expletive and insult is ‘dirty bunter!’
From Pierce Egan’s Life in London (1821) via Bozzimacoo: Origins and Meanings of Oaths and Swearwords (1975) by Mary Marshall.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 250.
I’m sorry I’m late, but I started finding faults in Frederick Lord Leighton’s painting Farewell (1893). (F)

A single overheard remark:
‘I’d be a lady to start with…’

I was just getting ready to jot down another page of my long running Overheard and Misheard Snatches of Cafe Conversation things when I realised that all the people at nearby tables were speaking very quickly in what sounded like Chinese.
I suppose I could have carried on and written stuff down as accurately as I could, but I think it would have been a rather boring read: ‘Na wanna hey-how niney cow’ – ‘Anna me ja meggo canny soo-oo’ and Shap etty nee, ha ha ha!…’ etc.

An Observation:
There was a sudden heavy downpour of hailstones – a shaven-headed man was out walking his dog. There was nowhere to shelter. He was holding the bunched end of the dog lead up over his head to try to lessen the pain of the impacting stones. The dog didn’t look too happy either, as they ran along it was looking up at him as if asking him to make it all stop…

I’m thinking of changing my name to Mick Stim-Oceans.

She was the kind of person who would always pronounce the letter ‘H’ in the word ‘hour’.

Oh, hello? What’s this in my comments box? It’s another piece of spam; this time it’s from someone called 4K3U:
‘fascinating discussion could be valued at comment. I do believe which you do basically write read far more about this subject, it may be possibly not often be a taboo topic but normally persons are too couple to discuss on such topics. To a higher. Cheers…’
Well thank you 4K3U, I will give some serious thought to what you have said, and I hope to hear from you again soon.

Yesterday, with a quick click of the mouse, I deleted a piece of music I had been working at on and off for two or three weeks. Ah, what a great feeling! It just wasn’t very good – now it’s gone, thank goodness, and no one will ever have to listen to it… I’m happy now.

A single overheard remark:
‘The police told us to form like an arch…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, conversation, dreaming, existentialism, expletives, Hull.UK., humour, information, observations, painting, people, serendipity, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

