Gadgets, gadgets!… (1)

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s instruction is to fashion a pair of very large duck feet from yellow cardboard, put them on and run in and out of all the banks and municipal offices in town quacking.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Shall we dip into another interesting volume from my small collection of junk shop books dear reader? I’d show you a picture of it, but it is rather boring, a very plain red hardback book with a cream-coloured spine, I think it may have once sported a nice dust cover, but that is unfortunately missing. It is The 1954 Gadgets Annual. Here is a picture of the title page:

DSCN3900I expect Gadgets Magazine was hot stuff in 1954.
Of course that was a time when money was very tight, only a few years after World War II, and a time when things were repaired and carefully looked after rather than being thrown out after only a few months use as they are now. It was also a time when people were interested in making things and had hobbies, and would occasionally post their ideas in to this magazine for possible publication – imagine the excitement when you got one included!…
There are two or three items per page. Here are one or two headings picked at random: Anti-furring Device for Kettles, A simple Formula for Making Sealing Wax, A Non-Spill Ashtray – Easily Emptied, Two Uses for a Door Wedge on a Car… You get the idea. Today we’ll have a look at the top of page 53.

DSCN3907‘Albert!…’
‘Yes Dear?’
‘Have you by any chance seen my best gloves, I can’t seem to locate them. I wore in them in town yesterday afternoon, I’m sure I left them just there… there, on the hall stand…’
‘No, Madge, my dear, I can’t recall seeing them…’
‘By the way Albert, what’s that funny burning smell? It seems to be coming from the garden shed.’
‘Oh, nothing dear, I was just burning a bit of flaking paint off my, my, er, bicycle front mudguard…’
‘Well Albert, it’s not very nice, please close the back door. Perhaps I’ll go and look upstairs for them…’
‘Yes dear…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in archeology, conversation, design, drama, history, humour, information, photography, serendipity, surrealism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gadgets, gadgets!… (1)

  1. Stewart Would says:

    Should I bother to earth any of that potentially wet metalwork?

Leave a Reply

