Just some coloured boats…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s unusual pencil sharpener is the one shaped like a wisp of cigarette smoke.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

So, yesterday I thought that it was about time I uploaded a new photo to my Flickr photostream. If there is a picture in my files that I think is reasonably interesting I will first stick it here on my blog and try to come up with some amusing things to say about it, and then later pop it onto Flickr. The one I chose yesterday, which seemed to me just a ‘fairly alright’ picture, but not really worth half a page of writing, was the one you see below. To my surprise it proved quite popular on Flickr – perhaps it is a ‘better’ picture than I thought it was… Anyway, I decided to share it with you after all my dear reader. Here it is…

DSCN3688It is another one from my pleasant day out in the Yorkshire seaside town of Bridlington last October. Pretty simple isn’t it? Three bright little motor boats (moored well out of the way of night-time drunks and merrymakers) in the middle of their pool near the sea front.
What has this picture got going for it then? Well, just two things I suppose: colour and composition.
Colour: Well, these boats are certainly bright enough. I like the way they ring the changes of colour combination too; apart from the black lower hull on them all, it’s all done with red, blue, and yellow. I expect there are a couple more boats just out of shot that have a red hulls, one with a blue hatch and one with a yellow one… but I wander…
Composition: Ah, as you know, I’m always messing with composition. How would you have composed this shot dear reader? The three boats in the middle of the picture? My idea, (subconscious of course) in positioning the boats right at the top of the frame was to include that large area of very drab water below (it really is surprisingly featureless isn’t it? No floating bits of debris to catch the eye…) This unrelenting drabness makes the boats look even brighter… I’ve just noticed that the pattern on the still surface is actually the reflection of the clouds in the sky above… Oh nice!… Not a bad picture after all…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, colours, information, photography, seeing, serendipity, style, surrealism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just some coloured boats…

  1. memadtwo says:

    Yes, looks like they are on a high wire.

Leave a Reply

