The faith in the clouds…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s weather will feature hexagons of moisture, cones of blue, elegant ellipses with puffs of grey in them, and occasional multi-directional gusts of small birds.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

‘So, how was your day?’
‘Amazing…’
‘Really?’
‘Oh yes! Today I saw the face of Our Lord Jesus.’
‘Did you? Where?’
‘In the clouds.’
‘In the clouds?’
‘Yes, I just happened to look up as I came out of the bank, the one on the High Street, and there He was, beaming down at me – a cloud formation, in the shape of Our Lord’s face…’
‘Can I ask a question?’
‘Yes of course, go ahead.’
‘How did you know it was Him?’
‘Well it looked like Him of course!’
‘Well I…’
‘Everybody knows what He looks like!’
‘Please describe Him to me… if you don’t mind…’
‘No, I don’t mind. Alright… He has a very striking face, lovely cheekbones, straight nose, neat beard and moustache, lovely long golden hair, and an aura of calm and…’
‘Golden hair? In the clouds?’
‘Well, no, in the clouds His image was in grey and white I suppose, but surrounded by blue.’
‘Of course…’
‘But He does have golden hair… and His eyes…’
‘Yes?…’
‘Oh, I can’t even begin to describe the wonderful blue eyes of Our Lord…’
‘No, I suppose not, but they were blue though?’
‘Oh yes, a piercing, steely, but compassionate blue, with such an intensity of…’
‘Sky blue?’
‘Of course.’
‘I suppose they would be.’
‘No, but Our Lord’s eyes really are blue, not just in the sky, everybody knows that!’
‘But isn’t He a Middle Eastern sort of chap?’
‘Oh I don’t know about that, but I’d recognise Him anywhere.’
‘But how do we know that He looks like that? Or rather looked like that, it was a long long time ago.’
‘Oh, He’s still here with us you know!’
‘So I’m led to understand… so, how do we know that…’
‘Well, those old paintings of Him, they always show Him with long golden hair and…’
‘Paintings?’
‘Yes, the image of Our Lord has been passed down from artist to artist for generations, since biblical times…’
‘Of course… Well, I think that’s really great!’
‘Yes, isn’t it? It made my day, and strengthened my faith!’
‘Super!… I’m very pleased for you.’
‘Are you?’
‘Oh yes.’
‘Really?’
‘Yes…’
‘I’m not sure I believe you… Do you… Do you really think He might have been a Middle Eastern-looking chap then?…’
‘Well I…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in archeology, art, brain, conversation, drama, history, humour, information, learning, mind, observations, painting, religion, seeing, serendipity, surrealism, thinking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

