Stellar Stella and her words…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s adjectives are: floppy, helical, red, styptic, gamic, wappend, and cuddly.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

xP9030017Landscape No. 78 (1997). Charcoal and pencil on paper, about 24″ x 18″.

‘Good morning Stella…’
‘David, what’s that awful stink in the street?’
‘And what a fine morning it is too, and how are you today Stella my dear?’
‘Well?’
‘I’m glad to hear it Stella, I…’
‘No! I mean well, what’s that bloody horrible smell?’
‘Oh, it’s nothing to do with me, it’s just the lady two doors up boiling up some offal for her huge gang of cats.’
‘Good god!…’
‘Hm, I know… Come on in, let me close the door. Oh, I like your hat…’
‘Hm…’
‘I’ve never seen a hat like that before, is it a sort of a…?’
‘Look, just put the kettle on and make me some tea, I…’
‘It’s already on, and I have a Battenberg to accompany it.’ (B)
‘A what?’
‘Look…’
‘Oh, one of those… I hope it’s better than it looks, you cheapskate!… and what the hell’s this, the end of the world?’
‘Eh?…’
‘The drawing.’
‘Oh, yes it is…’
‘Really?’
‘No… Here’s your tea, and don’t make a noise drinking it.’
‘Ha!… Well cut me some cake then! How about heat death of the universe?’
‘No, the Battenberg was all they had, you’ll have to put up with it Stella.’
‘No, I mean the drawing, heat death of the universe, when expansion is almost complete, and the remaining drifting spread-out particles give up their last futile gasp of energy.’ (H)
‘Well, I call it Landscape No. 78…’
‘Yes David, but I know what it’s really about.’
‘Do you?’
‘Yes, swirling clouds of interstellar gas, coughing their last, fundamental particles bobbing about flipping in and out of quantum virtuality…’
‘Did you say ‘virtuality’ Stella?’
‘No, I didn’t… Did you think that I did?’
‘I thought that you thought that you did, how do you find the Battenberg?’
‘Yummy…’
‘Did you say ‘yummy’ Stella?’
‘Possibly… But if it’s a landscape as you say, I suppose all that stuff at the bottom is all the human life on the planet and our ultimately stupid and worthless possessions being tossed around like straw in the… Oh, and the aerial turbulence, which by the way, is very nicely done, do you like Turner?’
‘The film or the painter?’
‘It’s Mother Nature trying to throw off the foul infestation which is relentlessly creeping over and suffocating her…’
“Infestation’ Stella?’
‘Yes, us humans David…’
‘Hm… right… This Battenberg is nice isn’t it?… More tea?…’
‘Yes, alright…’
‘and I do like your hat…’
‘Ha!…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, conversation, drama, drawing, existentialism, fashion, humour, information, people, physics, style, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stellar Stella and her words…

  1. Beautiful drawing, Dave! For a foul infestation.

Leave a Reply

