Space Provision…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s existential angst is centred around the idea of athletics.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

DSCN3703Is this an intriguing photograph, or is it really a bit boring?
I think I’d better leave that up to you dear reader…

Perhaps it’s ‘minimal’? People do seem to use that word when they are confronted with a piece of art that seems so simple that they wonder how the artist could actually be bothered doing it in the first place.
I must say that you get a lot more of that sort of stuff in ‘fine’ art galleries than in photographic shows. I suppose the artist might be calculating and cynical and think, Oh damn, I really can’t think of anything new for this upcoming show… I know, I’ll just do something quick and cheap – they’ll think that I’m a really sensitive and deep person, a person who is in touch, Zen-like, with the fabric of reality, and the nature of aesthetics, and they’ll fall over themselves to join me and share in my heightened state of perception, and love the piece, and possibly part with a pile of money for it… Now, what do I have lying about the house? Ah, a piece of string, and a dirty tea-cup, and an old towel with a ragged hole in it, good, they’ll do… Oh, and I’d better phone the gallery and tell them I’ll need the room painted bright white…

No, I was sitting on the upstairs front seat of a double-decker bus; it was a pretty boring journey. There it was, Space Provision For Fire Extinguisher – what a very odd use of words… and where is it? The fire extinguisher I mean…
I’m sorry I didn’t quite get the lettering in focus, but there wasn’t much light… but I don’t think it spoils the picture, it sort of makes the words retreat a little into their corner. It is of course an ‘abstract’ composition… a ‘puzzle’ picture… perhaps a surreal one?  Yes, as a quick snap I think I like it, it makes me smile… by the way that’s my knee…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, design, existentialism, humour, information, observations, photography, puzzle, seeing, serendipity, style, surrealism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

