Mail Art Postcard No. 4546…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s 19th c. English expletive is ‘Bethmons!’ – a corruption of ‘by the man’. It was quite popular in Lancashire and Cheshire I am led to understand.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Is it time for another of my nice mail art postcards?

WP F 4546 DSCN3990Yes, a couple of snippings from an old copy of that cheap TV listings magazine What’s On TV stuck on a piece of fluorescent card, we could call this a collage.
I suppose what I’m asking the viewer to do here is to compare mouths… Whoa!…
The mouth on the left belongs to a face that is vaguely familiar to me, but I’m afraid I can’t attach a name to it – I think he is some sort of chat show presenter who has been around on our TV screens since he was a teenager – no, it’s no good, his name escapes me… You know, I can’t decide which are whiter, his teeth or his shirt…
Now, the chap on the right, he looks really angry, but I don’t think he is, he’s just doing what he does – he has very white teeth too. I wonder, does he floss?… He must get a lot of meat and bone fragments caught in his gaps…
What about the juxtaposition (it’s that lovely word again!) of the two images dear reader? Are we just comparing mouths, or is the beast about to have Mr Pleasant for lunch? It can be both I suppose… I’ve just noticed, if you accidentally lock on to Mr Pleasant’s weird eyes it’s very difficult to drag yourself away – Hm, I think he’s more scary than Mr Shark…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in advertising, art, brain, colours, drama, expletives, food, history, humour, information, seeing, serendipity, smiling, surrealism, TV, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

