Chocolate, for creativity and optimism…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s elephant in the room is little ebony one with only one tusk gathering dust on the top of the bookshelves.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

A week or two ago I mentioned my staying up until the early hours of the morning doing a drawing under the influence of a whole 100g bar of 71% strong dark chocolate. Well, I have had another of these creative experiences. (Click)
Last night as I was watching a recording of the late Christopher Lee in that 1976 not bad Hammer film To the Devil a Daughter and twanging on my guitar I intermittently nibbled another bar of 71% dark.
No, dear reader, I didn’t stay up late again, I went off to bed at a respectable hour, about midnight, but I did wake up just before 7 this morning needing to micturate and drink a glass of water. Having accomplished those tasks successfully, I wandered naked into the front room to look out of the window to see if anything exciting, perhaps a car being set on fire, had occurred in the street during the night. All was well, and no dear reader, not to worry, car burning is not really a regular event in these parts, it only happens now and again – I’m just adding a bit of local colour to this piece.
I usually feel pretty grumpy and miserable first thing, but this morning I noticed that I had an odd and uncommon sense of optimism colouring my outlook – it must be the previous night’s chocolate fix.
As I walked past my drawing table my eye was attracted to the blank sheet of thick white watercolour paper clipped to it which had replaced the finished drawing from the previous chocolate fuelled episode. I was about to drift off back to bed when my hand, for some reason, reached out and picked up a piece of charcoal, and I paused in front of the blank sheet.
I stood there, starkers, and started a drawing – gosh, I felt like a proper mad artist. That’s just the sort of thing that they’d get up to in their scruffy Paris garrets in the 1920s, the first light of dawn streaming in through the Venetian blinds catching the dust motes hanging in the still air. After about 25 minutes most of the drawing was done. It’s not a very complicated one, there’s plenty of blank paper around the edges. I even signed it and dated it. It’s an unusual one for me, I’ve never done one quite in this style before, it seems to have taken a form vaguely resembling Japanese or Chinese characters – it wasn’t intentional, it grew from nothing. I put it down to the chocolate… We artists, we bohemians, have always abused substances: cocaine, absinthe, Indian hemp, alcohol – me, being a complete wimp, it’s chocolate. What was Sherlock Holmes’s thing? The 7% solution? With me it’s the 70% dark… By the way, I’m writing this in a little notebook whilst lying in bed, it is now 8:15 – perhaps I’ll nod off again and…

DSCN4010

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, cool, drawing, existentialism, Film, humour, information, learning, mind, painting, serendipity, style, surrealism, TV and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

