Some small, but pithy items…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s choice adjectives are: pouting, heliocentric, grunting, telescopic, pied, and grubby.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 258.
I’m sorry I’m late, but I was replacing my bicycle handle bar with a steering wheel.

From a ‘voice over’ on a TV show discussing weatherproof jackets:
‘This jacket traps air inside your body and heats it up…’

A single overheard remark:
‘Ooh! I got a ripple!…’

Oh, look at the words on the back of that truck – it says, ‘Tipper Ingimex Forum’. What strange words! Let’s all say them together…
Come on, after me: Tipper Ingimex Forum, Tipper Ingimex Forum, Tipper Ingimex…
Come on!… You’re not trying!… Tipper Ingimex Forum, Tipper…

A single overheard remark:
‘Yes, it happens every time I touch it…’

‘But Dave, you are far too sensitive; young children are supposed to scream when they are in cafes…’

An observation:
The last time I was in Leeds the town centre was full of Mediterranean-looking school children all with brightly coloured matching backpacks and big noses.

I remember back in my art school days sitting in the pub with a friend of mine; we were chatting and smoking and drinking beer. I recall him saying, ‘You know, we needn’t worry too much about smoking – by the time we are middle-aged they’ll have found a cure for lung cancer…’

Oh look, at the table in the corner of the cafe – there’s Maria from Fritz Lang’s 1927 film Metropolis. Oh, see how she flits her head from left to right in that stylish way… (Metropolis)

‘I think you are a really, really, lovely red…’
‘Do you? Well, I think are a really marvellous green…’
‘Oh, but your red is so charming and…’
‘Hey!… You two!… Just stop it! – God, I can’t stand complimentary colours!…’

 

 

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in brain, colours, conversation, cool, dreaming, existentialism, Film, green, Grumpiness, humour, information, observations, serendipity, smoking, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Some small, but pithy items…

  1. memadtwo says:

    Pouting AND grubby. Good choice.

Leave a Reply

