I can do as I like now…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s unusual pencil sharpener is the one shaped like the Mona Lisa’s nose.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Artists, should they be able to do as they like?…
Well, I suppose so, but only in the field of art, we don’t want the buggers flying aeroplanes, doing open heart surgery, running the country and starting wars, and things like that. Artistic freedom is generally thought to be quite a good idea, even when these upstarts are free to produce self-centred, infantile, bland, and very dull work. Yes, let’s let them do it, I don’t think it does any harm, except perhaps when it encourages others, who also lack any aesthetic sensibility, to emulate them…
Last week I was on a train and had to take my ticket out of my wallet for the ticket inspector; as I produced it a small white laminated card appeared with it. I showed this to my travelling companion who said, ‘Oh, that’s nice, I want one of those! Will you make me one?…’
I made a small number of these a couple of years ago to give to artist friends – their name filled in and the card laminated in plastic for durability and to prevent forgery. Here’s a picture of my own one. They are very useful to suddenly flash when having arty arguments with people. Do you like it?…

DSCN4016

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, cool, existentialism, expletives, humour, information, surrealism, thinking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I can do as I like now…

  1. memadtwo says:

    I’m sure it would go over quite well with the legal authorities here….

Leave a Reply

