Mail Art Postcard No. 4545…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s weather will feature: fine clear blobs, ladders of grey, shiny birds on branches, gusts and tremors, and audible sighing in the eaves.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

WP F 4545What the hell is going on here?…
Well, to be honest, I don’t know – I think we’d better call it ‘surrealism’, that can cover a very wide range of intended and unintended strangeness…
Yes, it’s another of my quickly made Mail Art postcards. Images snipped from an old copy of that cheap TV listings magazine What’s On TV and pasted onto fluorescent card – I suppose it’s a collage.
But no, I don’t know what to make of it either.
Obviously, I carefully cut around these chaps and stuck them in front of the fruit, but as to what they are up to I have no idea.
They may be from one of those ‘Let’s pay a celebrity a lot of money and thoroughly embarrass them!’ shows which are quite popular on TV these days; or perhaps these chaps, yes, I’m pretty sure they are all chaps, are members of an elite army squad doing a bit of training in ‘challenging’ conditions. Oh, they seem to be loving it though, don’t they? Look at ’em grin – I’ll bet they are shouting, ‘Whaaaay!…’
Oh look, I like the way the colour of their eyes and the insides of their mouths matches that of the giant fruit looming up behind them – I didn’t plan that, it was just a bit of serendipity… Nice though…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in advertising, art, brain, colours, drama, food, humour, information, puzzle, seeing, serendipity, surrealism, TV and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

