His Ebenezer was surprisingly wooden…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s sound is that of a large anvil falling onto a drum kit from a great height – I particularly like the lingering sound of the dented cymbals rolling across the floor after the main impact.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Here’s an iteration of an old post from the dark days when I was blogging on that old thing called Myspace. Anyone here remember Myspace?…
‘Iteration’ – now there’s a technical/maths word that becoming very trendy these days, I heard it on a radio business programme only last night – I thought I’d slip it in this morning as I have never used it before. (I suppose ‘reiteration’ is used a lot more that ‘iteration’.) I had to check on getting the right number of ‘t’s and ‘r’s in it though… it turned out to be pretty straightforward really.

This is a short piece from a crisp day in early January a few years ago:

Over three or four days during the Christmas holiday there were at least eight versions, both live action and animated, of Charles Dickens’ A Christmas Carol (written in 1843) on the TV – and quite right too – it’s a really great spooky, but uplifting, tale.

Channel Four with Kelsey Grammer.
Channel Five with Alastair Sim.
ITV 3 with Ross Kemp.
BBC 2 with Rowan Atkinson.
Channel Four with Bill Murray.
Five USA with Patrick Stewart.
‘Living’ with Steven Weber.
Film 4 with Simon Callow.
Oh, and there was a version on BBC Radio 4, but I can’t recall who was in it.

And no, I didn’t catch them all dear reader – I wasn’t quite that desperate, but considering the poor quality of TV over the period I might as well have. I suppose I could have rated their quality in marks out of ten, but really, who would be interested? I’m surprise you are still with me on this piece… E. Scrooge is such a good part for actors – they must be fighting each other to get a chance to do it…
My favourite is the old Alastair Sim version from 1951 – I can watch anything with Alasair in it. I did catch a glimpse of the Patrick Stewart one – his Ebenezer was surprisingly wooden… as if his mind was on something else… Patrick is usually so good and classy… He has done Shakespeare you know…

 

 

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in drama, Film, history, information, magic, radio, style, TV, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to His Ebenezer was surprisingly wooden…

  1. Best post title ever!

Leave a Reply

