A quick sculpture idea…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s random dictionary words are: sumph, sumpit, sullage, suint, sumpter, and bontebok.
Please have these words looked up and placed in suitable sentences ready for Professor Mouldie first thing after breakfast tomorrow morning. As an experiment the professor will be singing the whole lesson in the style of an opera. You will be expected to join in on the choruses.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

DSCN4044Of course, I’d have to have those steel support stands made for it… But, hold on, I’m getting ahead of myself here…
Thursday, late afternoon, I was sitting in the cafe, tea and a chocolate brownie on the table in front of me, I was waiting for inspiration to strike, I’ve had no recent encounters with bad surrealist poets, there wasn’t much interesting cafe conversation going on, the music playing was a bit jazzy, so not very much in the way of lyrics to mishear over the hubbub… I was gazing out of the window. Oh, look at that tree in the square, its trunk is so straight and round… it’s like a pencil… you could almost cut it down and…
So, I opened my notebook and did a quick sketch. No, dear reader, I don’t take a bundle of colour pencils with me when I go cafeing, I coloured the drawing in later when I got home.
Of course, I’ll never actually do this piece. Also, I expect plenty of people have had this idea before me, and may have actually made such a work. In a way I suppose I don’t need to make it; for me doing the little drawing and letting you see it is enough. You may notice that I’m not getting drawn into blethering on about ‘what it means’ – the giant pencil symbolising human creativity springing naturally from the earth, and all that tosh. You can supply all that yourself – that’s the idea of visual art after all…
By the way, that figure standing admiring the work isn’t supposed to be me – he’s just there to indicate the scale of the thing – he’s probably ‘Joe Public’ coming across the thing in his local park… So, there it is, it’s done… What do you think?…

PS: I did a similar thing involving a tree a while back. I wonder if I can find it. Aha! Here is it. Click.

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, cafe, design, drawing, dreaming, humour, sculpture, seeing, serendipity, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

