Messing with letters… Yacinth?…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s lecture will be on Millikan’s Oil Drop Experiment of 1909. (M.O.D.E.) Phones switched off please.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

A simple, but annoying puzzle involving the letter ‘H’.
Yes, it does look like a poem doesn’t it? But no, it isn’t one.
I call this the ‘Blocksmith Puzzle’ because its origin is in a keyboard error I once made typing the word ‘locksmith’.
It’s a nice word, blocksmith!…

Some of the letter ‘H’s have been deliberately loosened from this page; please tip all these words into a small bag, give it a good shake, and then tip them out to see if order can spontaneously arise from chaos.

himpotent eating hopulence urricane

hyonder olistic hoars yacinth

hossification ooters humpteen ideous

hobligation uge hangular edge

handrogynous oops humbrella ymnal

helbows opeless his orse

hoblong earing hostrich illy

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in brain, history, humour, information, learning, mind, physics, poetry, puzzle, serendipity, surrealism, thinking, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Messing with letters… Yacinth?…

  1. julie harms says:

    I teach English to French school kids during the week, and the letter ‘H’ for the French is always a challenge. In English ‘H’ is a liberated sound with a freedom of speech, in French it has to be shackled to an other letter in order to modify the sound of said letter. Alone, ‘H’ is the invisible man letter. The unwanted one, the mute, which is a tragedy for a letter really. In my classes, ‘H’ has a super power, it changes angry into hungry, ill into hill, ate into hate…

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Generally I can’t even guess at the pronunciation of French words (never did French at school) especially the ones with ‘H’s in ’em. I mean, who would have thought that President Hollande would be pronounced as Ollond!… not to mention Henri Matisse…

      • julie harms says:

        So true, the funny thing is just that his name is Hollande even though he’s president of France… Still today the French president is seen as an invisible non-charismatic individual. I wonder if it’s because his name is Hollande. A lot of French, those from his party as well don’t recognize him, as if he didn’t belong… It makes me wonder if surnames have a certain power such as defining who you might become.

      • Dave Whatt says:

        Doh! WordPress didn’t tell me that you had responded to my comment yesterday, I just found it as I was responding to your ‘Finnegan’s Wake’ one…
        So, “surnames defining who you might become…” Well, I turned out to be a person who questions a lot of things, and you… well you sound pretty scary… I’d better watch my step I think…

      • julie harms says:

        haha 🙂 , good thing it’s not my full name !

      • Dave Whatt says:

        “Not your full name”… Hm…

Leave a Reply

