Mail Art Postcard No. 4520…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s wrinkled old black and white snapshot is the one of me playing a game of real tennis with the Duke of Edinburgh in 1952. (RT)
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

4520DSCN3873Here comes another of my quick and silly Mail Art collage postcards. As usual the images are snipped from an old copy of that cheap and rubbishy UK TV listings magazine What’s On TV which I foolishly still buy every week – I don’t really read much of it, but it is good for slicing up for work like this…
No, I’m sorry, I don’t know who this chap is, or what his little dog’s name is, (perhaps the little dog’s name is Chuttles, it’s as good a name as any) but they certainly do make an interesting pair.
With Chuttles’ new lips and teeth the picture takes on a very strange mood don’t you think? Chuttles’ new expression tells us that he might be a bit fed up with posing and having to be cute and endearing; that smile doesn’t look very genuine, does it dear reader? It’s like the wooden smile that fashion models drift into after a gruelling hour or two of trying to look bright and cheerful for the camera. And what about the chap, with his best shirt and tie on, what is he thinking? He looks like he’s got something on his mind…
Well, I think I can cheerfully pop this one in the folder marked ‘Surrealism’ just for its air of oddness…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in advertising, art, brain, existentialism, history, humour, information, mind, seeing, serendipity, smiling, style, surrealism, TV and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mail Art Postcard No. 4520…

  1. julie harms says:

    It’s Inspector Barnaby ! Well actually it’s the second Inspector Barnaby. Somehow, the first actor impersonating Barnaby probably got tired of playing Barnaby, so the people writing the script decided to invent a nephew called guess what ?……Barnaby ! Now what a surprise. What’s funny about this, is that Barnaby is the chief inspector of a small town called Midsommer. I don’t know what the crime rate is in a small British town, but I am almost certain it doesn’t exceed Los Angeles’crime rate…well guess what ?… It does, in proportion of course…And they’re all perpertrated by middle class or retired very proper citizens….I miss Barnaby on TV. There’s always something reassuring about British crime series, the criminals are so proper and polite.

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Gosh! I’m amazed at your knowledge! ‘Midsommer Murders’, Aha!… I have heard of it, but have never watched it – I was initially put off by it having miserable-faced John Nettles in it – I presume he was Barnaby Mark 1… Perhaps it was a bit like that one set in crime infested Oxford, I never watched that one either – Inspector what’s his name was a miserable looking bugger too as I recall. Thank you JH!…

Leave a Reply

