The Kitchen Drawing Book… (No.1)

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s heraldic term is escutcheon – A small shield.
I had a nice escutcheon once, but it accidentally got a blot on it and I had to get rid of it.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

About seven or so years ago a friend gave me a present (birthday, I think) of one of those nice thick expensive artists sketchbooks. The covers are black and substantial, and the book is about ten inches square and a good inch thick. I’m not really a ‘sketchbook’ sort of person, but I decided to keep it in the kitchen and have it as my ‘kitchen drawing book’ in which I could do anything that took my fancy (with a brain recently refreshed by sleep) whilst munching breakfast cereal and drinking a mug of tea. This was a great idea because there would be no pressure to do anything too ‘careful’ or ‘good’ in it. I could glue things in it too – scruffy and rough working drawings for my sculptures, and some of the original layouts for my linocuts.
Here is a quick pencil drawing inspired by a picture torn from that popular TV guide, What’s On TV:

WP F DSCN4083

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in advertising, art, books, brain, drawing, dreaming, heraldry, humour, information, people, serendipity, surrealism, TV, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Kitchen Drawing Book… (No.1)

  1. memadtwo says:

    In the end it’s just paper…

  2. julie harms says:

    It’s a funny picture. The ‘Picks of the day’ title above the picture could be interpreted in so many ways. Like always, the girls looks needy as she clings to her prize ‘of the day’, the guy looks bored and daydreams about the ‘pick of tomorrow’. All this is really put forth in your drawing as well. Oh and I have the “Gone in the wind” theme playing in my head because of this…gahhhh !

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Gosh, you have read into the thing a lot more than I put in – but then again, who knows what my subconscious was up to… Oh no, I can hear the music too… Whoa!…

Leave a Reply

