It’s a hell of a tree…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s existential angst is centred around the sound of the word slipshod.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

DW724Here’s another picture from my days of old-style, black and white, film and darkroom photography. I don’t recall when or where it was taken, but that’s very nice looking domed building in the distance – I wonder where it is? (I’m sure someone will get in touch and tell me – as if I’m interested!) I do like domes – architects don’t do very nice domes these days do they? I mean, look at that Millennium Dome in London (MD) – it looks like it once was a dome, but then it got a puncture and deflated, and they had to hold it up with some sticks and some pieces of string – another of world-famous architect Richard Rogers’ triumphs… but I digress… Back to the photo.
This doesn’t really look like one of my pictures does it? It’s too ‘normal’ – it looks like the sort of thing you might see in one of those old magazines, such as Amateur Photographer – a publication for keen photographers, men (yes, just men) who wore tweeds and smoked pipes and pontificated for hours on ‘depth of field’ and ‘absence of visible grain’… ‘So, Arthur, which developer are you currently using?… No! Really?… It’s up to you of course, but in my experience…’ etc.
There’s nothing particularly ‘quirky’ about this one is there? Some jumped-up young arts administrator once described my work as ‘quirky’ – I think that was about as near hitting someone as I have ever been – quirky indeed!… Ha!..
So, why did I take this snap? It’s the tree, it’s the tree! It’s a hell of tree, isn’t it dear reader? Talk about gnarled!… I don’t think I’d like to sit on that bench with that writhing great beast close behind me… I do like the placing of the bench in front of the tree though – it looks as if it might have been made from the hardwood timber from one of the tree’s branches, that one that dropped off in the paticularly bad storm of 1957… It would be nice if it was…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in architecture, art, brain, existentialism, Film, history, humour, information, observations, photography, seeing, style, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

