Hm, how about a bit of misery tonight?…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s random dictionary words are: styptic, inguinal, quiddle, thrum, quidnunc, harmala, and bobbery. Please have these words looked up and placed in suitable sentences ready for Professor Mouldie first thing after breakfast tomorrow morning. The Professor will be conducting the whole lesson in the role of William Shakespeare’s Richard III.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

So, last night, about 11 o’clock, I decided to watch a film on TV; it was one I recall having started to watch some time ago, but I couldn’t recall how it progressed; perhaps I didn’t think much of it and had given up on it early on? It was The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo from 2011. (T G W T D T)
I noticed that it was exactly three hours long – including the adverts – I wondered if it would actually hold my interest and keep me up until 2 o’clock in the morning… Three hours is a bit of a long haul even for a good film isn’t it? Still, I had my Fender Jazzmaster electric guitar plugged in to the amplifier (at a quiet setting) so I could parallel process, watching the film and doing a bit of chord twanging, and widdling some blues runs for the duration.
Is this going to be a film review? Not really but…
Well… What a bunch of thoroughly hard-faced unlikeable characters! They all spent the whole film snapping and scowling at each other. The most engaging character in it was the cat that demanded entry through the frosty window of Daniel Craig’s bleak cottage early on in the tale – of course the poor thing was brutally slain within the hour – the reason being that had it survived it would have stolen the film away from the actors. Speaking of Daniel Craig, as soon as the thing started I realised that, despite his slab-faced stolidness, he bears a striking resemblance to that lovely old British comedy actor Norman Wisdom. (N W) – so from there on I couldn’t really take him seriously, and I even chuckled occasionally, especially in Daniel’s most anguished and punishing moments…
On the whole, it could have been cut down to half its length and still made a nice chilly miserable film, for people who like that sort of thing.
The music was noticeably noticeable too, I think the director realised how slow-moving the plot was, there was plenty of ‘dead wood’, and was trying to inject a bit of life into the thing. The trouble with the music for me was that when one is parallel processing one has to change the key of the Howlin’ Wolf riffs one is playing so that they don’t clash with the key the clattering soundtrack is in. Oh, there was plenty of gratuitous sex and violence and cruelty going on too – I looked away when those were happening. It’s definitely a film for nice middle class people who have nice safe lives, insulated from the world by their money and their nice homes, who want to be thrilled and shocked by, and pretend to care about, all that nastiness and cruelty and reality out there on the fringe of society. To resurrect that old phrase – now, there’s three hours of my life I’ll never get back – I enjoyed the guitar playing though – it’s very good for the brain, guitar playing – better than watching depressing icy films…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, blues, brain, drama, Film, humour, information, observations, smiling, surrealism, TV, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

