A few short items…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s random dictionary words are: alcaide, alerce, alegge, alerion, alegar, and bummock.
Please have these words looked up and placed in suitable sentences ready for Professor Mouldie first thing after breakfast tomorrow morning. Extra marks will be awarded to students who are smartly turned-out and who are sporting interesting and unusual headgear.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 265.
I’m sorry I’m late, but I accidentally glued one of my shoes to the floor.

With reference to the above random dictionary words item: flicking a big fat old-fashioned paper dictionary open and finding some interesting and rarely used words is a quite an easy thing to do, but trying to find unusual words in this manner online is rather difficult, if not impossible. It would be like trying to dip your trembling fingers into Google’s great seething cauldron of bits and pulling random steaming strings of them out in the hope of finding something of interest.

Oh look, on the TV – it’s Valentina Tereshkova, first woman in space – she looks great! She looks like a Hull lady… Russia must be just like a very large version of Hull… (VT)

A single overheard remark:
‘Yes, but if you had a very large shoe-horn…’

Heard on BBC Radio 3, (the BBC’s classical music station):
‘This is a recording with a woody drawing-room ambience…’

An observation:
She had the look of someone who had done a lot of wincing in her life…

I’m thinking of changing my name to Davy Dockny.

A young scruffy bloke cycled past me on a child’s bicycle, he was crouched low down on it with his bony knees going up and down as he peddled. He shouted to me, ‘Wanna buy a bottle of rum mate?…’
I said, ‘No, not really…’
‘Only a fiver…’ he said.
I shook my head…

Oh look, another item of spam in my comments box – it’s from someone called jerseys authentic:
‘your high school diplomas, you only need to gather 7500 hours to get qualified. And as them. They’re launching Pittsburgh Luxury Cruises with “an anonymous group of mostly local investors.” His wife, manage the conflict in an effective manner in a way that you solve problems but’
Well thank you jerseys authentic, I will certainly bear in mind what you have said, and I hope to hear from you again soon.

A single overheard remark:
‘You had the brownie one, not the orangey one Tony…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, conversation, cool, dreaming, Dulltown, existentialism, history, Hull.UK., humour, information, music, observations, overheard, radio, serendipity, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A few short items…

  1. julie harms says:

    Funny ! I think we can call these moments of observations and overheard remarks “laughers” or “inconspicuously funny”or “cryptocomedy” or”the invisible laugh” …As always your posts always make me want to be inventive. Here’s one for you, I’ve been teaching English to small French kids. When I started teaching them, I thought I would only speak to them in English. Of course they couldn’t really understand, and decided to boldly defy me by climbing on the tables and ignoring my “Enough!”, until one of them looked at me and seriously asked me who enough was. How do you want to maintain a straight face after that. (Madame, c’est qui enough ?)

Leave a Reply

