Adolescentiam Alunt Senectutem Oblecant…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s joke is the one about the Prime Minister and the pig’s head.
No, no, surely this one can’t be true!… (PM and PH)
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

A few days ago having given up on Tokyo Ghoul, a manga someone had lent me, (it wasn’t as witty as I had hoped, but I did like mention of the novel The Egg of the Black Goat and the burger bar called Restaurant Big Girl!) I realised that I had run out of bedtime reading. I went had a poke about on my bookshelves and found another of those old junk shop books that I’d never read – this one always looked a bit on the dry side. It’s a weighty dark blue, cloth-covered, hardback called Triumphs of Engineering – there is no publishing date on it, but I think that’s because it was a book intended as a Christmas or birthday present for ‘an intelligent young person’, which meant that it could be republished year after year to a new readership, a readership who might be put off if they spotted that it was a book a few years old…
‘So Dave, why are you telling us about it?’ I hear you ask… Well because it was actually a fairly interesting read (I learned all about penstocks, sheave towers, and bascules, not to mention the Simplon Tunnel) but also there are a couple of nice illustrations, ‘plates’, in it that I thought that you might like. This one is the ‘end paper’; as you see it has a sticker on it stating that the book was presented to some lucky lad called A. Heathcote by a Mr. G. Jack J.P. at the Beverley Grammar School in 1944.
1944 – Heathcote was probably just the right age to miss serving in WWII – lucky Heathcote!…

DSCN4118I see the graphic artist has sneaked his name in on the bottom right-hand corner – R. B. Way. Nice piece of work isn’t it? Here is another, this one accompanies the contents page – I expect this is by R. B. W. too; I do like this sort of thing…

DSCN4119

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in archeology, art, books, brain, design, drawing, history, information, learning, reading, serendipity, style, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

