Fake bleak Dulltown…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s architectural term is cushion capital – A Romanesque capital cut from a cube, with its lower parts rounded off to adapt it to a circular shaft; the remaining flat face of each side is generally a lunette. The sides of my cushion capitals are lunettes, people often remark how nice they are. (capitals)
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

BW DSCN3761Here’s a picture of mine from earlier this year. I’m afraid I couldn’t resist this headline from the Dulltown newspaper. I suppose you might call this a bit of ‘local colour’. I think that the weapon being a ‘potato peeler’ rather than a knife, or meat cleaver, is what makes it eye-catching, and also, dare I say, slightly amusing… I do hope the husband came out of it alright though…
Speaking of colour, this photo was of course in colour, but it all looked, a bit too ‘pleasant’, so I converted it to gritty black and white. Oh yes, that’s better! It looks really bleak now doesn’t it? Even the people in the background now seem to be in some sort of drama; they are not of course, that chap is just saying to his son, ‘Come on Jim, get in the car, let’s go eat these fish and chips…’ and the two women are discussing how to make the most of one’s geraniums… Oh, but it does look bleak, doesn’t it? Perhaps I should have been a journalist…
Composition: I’ve done my familiar trick of putting the eye-catching thing in the corner of the frame, and of course I’ve made the ‘mistake’ of placing that metal post bang in the centre of the picture – that certainly adds to the feeling of unease… Looking at it now, I suppose I could have cropped it straight down the middle, but leaving the post in; all the interesting stuff is on the right, and those two cars and the empty pavement on the left could easily be dispensed with… Hm… but then again, I don’t mind it as it is. What do you think dear reader?…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in advertising, architecture, art, brain, drama, Dulltown, existentialism, Hull.UK., humour, information, observations, people, photography, seeing, serendipity, style, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fake bleak Dulltown…

  1. julie harms says:

    I shouldn’t be laughing, but I am….:)

Leave a Reply

