Smallish, but pithy items…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s Victorian euphemistic expletive is By Jeremy! – Here ‘Jeremy’ obviously replaces Jesus. Perhaps this oath will come into use again now that we have a Jeremy as the new left-wing leader of the British Labour party? I hope so…
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 266.
I’m sorry I’m late, but I was trying to learn to play Foot Tapper by the Shadows. (FT)

A single overheard remark:
‘He broke it standing up…’

‘What happened to that footstool you used to have?’
‘Oh, one day it magically disappeared – pouffe!…’

An observation:
A burly chap in a dirty well-worn Hi-Vis jacket just walked out of a shop holding a bottle of pop. He took the top off, threw it aside, held the bottle to his lips and kept it there as he walked off down the road; he gulped away as he walked with the bottle sticking up at 45 degrees. He didn’t lower it until it was finished and  he was quite a way off, then he threw the empty bottle into the road and wiped his mouth with the back of his hand.

No, I never got into the football team – it was my lack of tattoos that held me back.

‘Mm, you smell nice Dave…’
‘Do I?…’
‘Yes, you do…’
‘Ah, it’s not me, it’s my shoulder bag, a chicken chow mein ready-meal leaked into it yesterday.’
‘Ah…’

Oh hello, what’s this? Ah, an item of spam in my comments box. This one seems to be from someone called wholesale free shipping:
‘and do little bit of homework…She begins the journey through her life with the story of the type of mine in terms of what ore is being mined, the size of the Oakland Raiders 21-13 to clinch a playoff spot. They played against the New England Patriots additional dollars that you might have more features, such as the range sewn around the thick He is a smart runner and makes few mistakes. Livestrong is a registered trademark of the’
Well thank you wholesale free shipping, I will certainly bear in mind what you have said, and I hope to hear from you again soon.

‘I was just listening to some madrigals…’
‘Mad wriggles?…’
‘Yes, they were great!… Jacopo da Bologna you know…’
‘Does he?…’
(M)

A single overhear remark:
‘I’ll speak to you in electric…’

 

 

 

 

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in brain, conversation, cool, dreaming, Dulltown, existentialism, expletives, Hull.UK., humour, information, magic, observations, overheard, people, serendipity, style, surrealism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Smallish, but pithy items…

  1. memadtwo says:

    or “by Jove!” perhaps…(I always wondered who or what Jove was)

Leave a Reply

