Mail Art Postcard No. 4552…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s existential angst is centred around the sound of the word fulsome.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

4552 DSCN4153Yes, dear reader… I am writing this from my small damp stinking cell deep in the dungeons of the Tower of London… I do realise now that making that silly mail art collage postcard… which, I admit, did mock Her Majesty… was one of the worst mistakes of my life… I mean… it was only a bit of fun… a couple of cartoon eyes stuck on… a moment’s madness… I thought that it would be somehow… amusing… how could I have guessed that She would be so upset?… the beating of the large fists and the big boots on my front door came at midnight last night… I’m not really sure how I got here… it’s all a crazy blur… they pushed a bowl of nasty gruel and a plastic fork to eat it with through a small filthy gruel-stained hatch in the bottom of the door two hours ago… ten minutes later a cheap sketch pad and a reasonably sharp pencil appeared, and a gruff voice whispered through the hatch, ‘Now, you lefty treasonous scumbag, call yourself an artist!… Let’s have a nice image of Her Majesty, or that’ll be the last food you’ll see for a week!… Ha ha ha!’… I hope that you get this message my dear loyal reader, my dear friend… I’m going to roll it up and fasten it to the tail of one of the rats which constantly run in and out of here… in the hope that… Oh, no!… what’s that sound coming down the corridor?… Is that the jingle of keys?… and voice of… Oh no!… Not the Duke of Edinburgh!…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, dreaming, existentialism, humour, information, irony, Royalty, serendipity, surrealism, sweating and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

