Magritte, he was a jolly good chap…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s existential angst is centred around the idea of English versions of American English muffins.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Yes, I have always liked Rene Magritte’s famous painting from 1928, This is Not a Pipe, (that should really be in French of course, but never mind). A while ago, whilst watching some crummy action movie on the TV where army or navy chaps were running and stamping about in big boots, and going up and down iron ladders, brandishing weapons, with sirens blaring and a voice over the tinny metallic speakers shouting, ‘This is not a drill! This is not a drill!’ I couldn’t help thinking back to Rene’s fine work. As I had an old, but stylishly shaped, 1950s/’60s electric drill, a Wolf one, kicking about, I thought that a photo of it with a bit of text underneath might be a good idea, as a sort of homage to the great artist.


Nice, isn’t it? I think a few other people have done versions of this idea too, but what the hell… Anyway, I was recently tidying up my work room and came across this old drill. I don’t use it anymore, so I wondered if I should I throw it out? No, I thought, I think I’ll make a new version of that photo idea, but a real three-dimensional one using the drill itself. This is not a drill! This is not a drill!
Yes, here it is complete with a flashing red light to add a bit of urgency to the phrase…. You couldn’t really call it a ‘sculpture’ could you? I’m not really sure what it is… It looks a bit like an exhibit in a museum… What do you think?…

DSCN4174

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, design, drama, existentialism, food, history, humour, information, learning, serendipity, style, surrealism, TV, Uncategorized, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Magritte, he was a jolly good chap…

Leave a Reply

