Tea spill doodling…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s adjectives are: genethliac, priapic, stealthy, twinter, melanochroous and fussy.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

DSCN3982
Mm, yes, it’s those Caffe Nero teapots you know…
If you pay a few pence more you can get a pot of tea instead of either a small, excuse me regular cup, or a large, er grande cup. Me, I like to get a pot, it gives me something to fiddle with, I suppose a bit like the famous tea ceremony, but on a much smaller scale and not half as classy. I pull the teabag out of the pot and put it in the empty cup and then pour the tea onto it and poke it about with the spoon – I like it strong you see – and after it has ‘brewed’ for a minute or two I put the bag back in the pot so that it can do its stuff on the remaining liquid left in there. You may notice that I just used the word ‘brewed’ – of course this is not brewing in the accepted sense of the word is it? Perhaps ‘infusing’ might be a better choice. When I was a kid, in my house a pot of tea would be ‘mashed’ – oh, and if the tea wasn’t properly mashed and was a bit on the weak side, it was said to be ‘blashy’… But I digress…
It’s those terrible Caffe Nero teapots you know. They’re not very well designed (I have been online and complained about them, but nothing has happened, I suppose it would cost a fortune to phase them all out and replace them with better ones…) If the pot is completely filled you can theoretically get two regular cups of tea out of it, however when it is fully filled, when pouring, the tea it comes out from under the lid as well as out of the spout and it runs down the cheeks of the pot and forms a tea puddle on the table – see above.
I think that the baristas (or should that be bariste?) have noticed this regular spillage on table tops and floors and they now put less tea in the pots, so you usually only get about one and a half cups… Is all this getting a bit petty and boring dear reader? Is that a beast with horns? A crab of some sort, waving its legs at us? I don’t know, I just noticed the light from the windows reflecting in the wetness and couldn’t resist dipping my little finger in and…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, cafe, design, existentialism, humour, information, observations, photography, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

