Yes, I’m still spattering…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s very special guests are les demoiselles d’Avignon, the ladies who posed for Picasso’s famous painting. Come on in and take a seat girls! My word, you are still looking good!… (L D dA)
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Spatter 6 (16 x 12)Yes, I’m still doing these ‘spatter’ paintings (spatter paintings); this one is ‘Spatter 6’, it is in acrylic paint and black ink on paper about 16″ x 12″. This paper is actually white, even though it unfortunately has a bit of a blue tinge on this picture – I think the digital camera was a bit upset by the brightness of the colours – white is always difficult to photograph…
This one is a bit of cheat I suppose; it is really just the sliced-off better half of a slightly disappointing larger one. The paper tends to cockle with the uneven wetting and the paint puddles into vertical stripes which look… er… not quite right… I don’t think I can put it any better than that…
Doing these paintings is really quite addictive, they are such fun to do! Of course nature and serendipity must take most of the credit for the expressive style and delicate forms, I am just an ignorant, but willing, pawn in their great intricate game…
I think, as I do more of these, they are getting better… ‘Better’ – what does that mean? What is ‘better’ when we are talking about randomly created splashy things like this? Are they more attractive because of my actions, my choices, or those of the master of surprise, serendipity?
It must be the colours, and the shapes. This one is definitely ‘better’ than the early ones… or is it? Gosh, what will future ones be like? Perhaps I’ll run out of steam and just trot them out – it’s an easy trap to fall into… especially if people decide they want to buy them to brighten up the walls of their bland living rooms or their miserable offices.
One’s art must move on though; I’ll stop when I get fed up with them – that’s what it’s all about…
We’ll see…

 

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, colours, drawing, humour, information, learning, painting, seeing, serendipity, style, surrealism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

