Stella and the Imp. War Mus….

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s colours are: dark red, light red, dark red, light red, pink, medium grey, medium grey, medium grey.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

P9030039Flower Girl and Imp.War Mus… 1982. Charcoal on paper about 24″ x 18″.

‘Oh, hello Stella my dear… You’re late.’
‘Oh? What time did you think I was coming?’
‘Oh, er… I don’t know…’
‘Well then David!’
‘Do come in… Oh, I see that you have your Shinigami with you.’
‘My what?!…’
‘Sorry, I’ve been watching too many Death Note anime episodes on DVD, I see the blighters everywhere… how about a nice cup of tea?’
‘I thought you’d never ask; and I want ginger nuts!’
‘Do you?’
‘Yes, I do, and be quick about it! What’s this rubbish?’
‘I think I have a few left, but they might be a bit soft and bendy, the packet’s been open a while.’
‘No matter, so long as they dunk.’
‘Oh, they’ll dunk alright… What ‘rubbish’ Stella my dear?’
‘This… drawing… What’s it supposed to be?… and pass me my mug of steaming hot marvellous Taylors of Harrogate Yorkshire Tea.’
‘What do you mean ‘supposed’? It’s supposed to be a drawing Stella, and that’s what it is!’
‘Hm, these g-nuts aren’t too bad. It’s a bit scratty and roughly done isn’t it?’
‘Possibly. You see after I left art school, I…’
‘Oh no David, not more of your insipid life story!’
‘Like most students, after college I found it difficult to get going on any actual art. It’s like people who study English, the last thing they want to do when they finish is to start writing more stuff, and…’
‘So, who’s this person, dressed as a flower?… More biscuits please.’
‘Here are a few bendy bourbons… I don’t know.’
‘You don’t know?’
‘You see, this was one of the very first charcoal drawings I ever did… Somebody gave me some sticks of charcoal and… You know, I remember back when I was a small child, holding pencil and paper in my little sweaty hands, I was always saying to my mother, ‘Oh, I don’t know what to draw… I don’t know what to draw…”
‘Oh god!…’
‘No no… So about ten years after art school, I decided that there weren’t really any rules, I could do anything I wanted, and I could draw anything… just to be doing something, you see… This one is based on a couple of random photos cut from the local newspaper.’
‘How fascinating…’
‘Shut up … It’s a little girl at some event, dressed as a flower, (was it Easter, is she a daffodil?) and a shot of the front of the Imperial War Museum in London.’
‘A war museum David?’
‘I know, it’s a weird idea isn’t it? I must say it is a bit creepy.’
‘You’ve actually been in there?’
‘Yes… Oh, and that round thing on the right is the barrel of one of a pair of massive naval guns from a battleship that they have mounted outside.’
‘Well, I find the whole thing most unpleasant… and I’ll have another mug of tea please.’
‘Unpleasant Stella? The war museum, or my drawing?’
‘Both… Anyway, what the hell is a shinigami?’
‘Well, they are gods who live up there in their Shinigami Realm and…’
‘Tea David! Now!…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, colours, conversation, drawing, existentialism, history, humour, information, learning, seeing, serendipity, style, surrealism, Uncategorized, war, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stella and the Imp. War Mus….

  1. ktz2 says:

    I’d never hear the word scratty before, and I like it. If I’d seen it standing alone and new, I think I’d sense what it meant.
    Bendy Biscuits just strikes me as hilarious for some reason. . . haha

Leave a Reply

