Some short but pithy items…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s special guests are the Sylvester Stallone lookalike twins Ethel and Barry Chummel. Put your weapons down and come on in you guys… Oh, love the bloody ripped t-shirts!…
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 271.
I’m sorry I’m late, but I was up until dawn with the creatures of the night.

A single overheard remark:
‘Of course she’s using the baby against him…’

‘No… Yes…’
‘Dave, did I just catch you talking to the television?’
‘Yes… the man on the documentary said, ‘Could Nostradamus foresee the future?’ and I said, ‘No…’ Then he continued, ‘…or, is that just how his writing has been interpreted?’, and I said, ‘Yes…’
‘Oh, right ho…’
‘His quatrains were daft…’
‘Mm…’

Hello, what’s this? Another piece of spam in my comments box; it’s from some one called jerseys from china.
‘a large pan. Cover with a lid and bring to the boil. Reduce the heat and of home. It is suitable for all with the above-mentioned qualities. When you are considering an to see any widening of the gap between hairs. Avoid the showboats in the crowds when you’re the tail meat out, getting rid of the black vein that runs through the length of’
Well, thank you jerseys from china, I will bear in mind what you have said, and I really do hope to hear from you again soon.

A short phrase heard on the classical music station BBC Radio 3:
‘The bubbling scherzo is souffle-like…’

An observation:
A little girl, standing with her mum, waiting for a bus – she is wearing a thick white knitted woolen hat with long dangling ear flaps at each side – she looks like a very very small High Court Judge…

‘She had to give up on the photography course.’
‘Oh, why?…’
‘She discovered that she had the uncanny knack of always pressing the shutter button just as people blinked… People had their eyes shut in every one of her pictures…’
‘Oh dear…’

Where’s my shopping list?… Ah yes, here it is… Now then, what’s this first item? Black butter? Did I write that? I’ve never even heard of black butter, I can’t imagine what it tastes like… Why on earth would I?… Ah, no! It’s not black butter, it’s Black Butler, my writing is terrible… No, having thoroughly enjoyed reading my first Manga series Death Note, I’ve been looking for another one to read, and someone online recommended a series I might like called Black Butler, I’ll see if I can find a copy of it to have a look at in town… Black butter indeed!… I’m glad I didn’t ask for it in Tesco’s supermarket… red faces all round…

A single strange overheard remark:
‘It was a very nice Peter blue sky…’

 

 

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in books, brain, conversation, Dulltown, existentialism, Hull.UK., humour, information, misheard, music, observations, overheard, photography, serendipity, surrealism, TV, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

