Mail Art Postcard No. 4523…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s porcupine is the one with corks on his spines for health and safety reasons.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Oh, I think it might be about time for another of my silly mail art postcards. Here’s one, a simple collage on fluorescent card using a couple of snippets from an old copy of that awful British TV listings magazine What’s On TV.

4523 DSCN3876No dear reader, I’m afraid I don’t know who these people are. They must be in some TV drama series and be quite well-known here in the UK – after all they do have their picture in this trashy best-selling magazine. I don’t really watch British drama on the TV, or anywhere else for that matter, it makes me shuffle in my seat and squirm, it’s all so… ‘actorish’ – give me a proper film any day, even a bad one. I’m assuming that these two are actors, I suppose they could be TV ‘scientists’ or sports ‘personalities’. No, he is definitely an actor, but is she one too? Could she be an ‘actress’? I think that I might be on dangerous ground here… There was a time a few years back when it was decided, quite sensibly, that all people who act should be referred to as ‘actors’ – that was fine by me, and it was fairly easy to get used to. But I think that might have drifted out of fashion lately and the term ‘actress’ might have sneaked back in. But what do I know? I’m a bit out of touch with such niceties…
Anyway, back to the postcard: It’s packed with drama isn’t it? Just look at (let’s call her Cicely) Cicely’s knowing smile. He (let’s call him Ralph) hasn’t known that Cicely knows that thing about him, and his lurid past, that he’s kept very quiet about all these years, but he has just had an inkling that she might know something, meaning that he’s not been quite as clever as he thinks he is/was. (I had an inkling once, but happily it soon faded) Cecily has obviously just spotted, in Ralph’s eyes, the confirmation of the how things stand – look at them – it is said that the eyes are the door knockers of the soul. Ralph pauses… he frowns… he has an itch in the middle of his back, just above the elastic of his underpants; he considers backing off upstage and inconspicuously rubbing himself against that nearby tree… Then the director shouts, ‘Cut!… Come on everyone buck up, put a bit of life into it! What is this – amateur night?… We are burning daylight!… Oh, and Cicely… Yes you… do stop looking at the bloody camera…’

 

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, design, drama, Film, humour, information, seeing, serendipity, surrealism, TV, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

