Hm, I think I’ll give it the title ‘Radiant Statuette’…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s unusual pencil sharpener is the one shaped like the sound of a trumpet.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

I just came across an old piece of paper with a list of a few titles of works from The East Riding Open Art Exhibition at the Beverley Art Gallery from December 2010.
‘Why would you have jotted these down Dave?’ I hear you ask.
Ah, yes, it was for an early blog post of mine (from those dark days when I was scratting about on some funny old thing called MySpace). On the post I remarked that the work on show wasn’t good enough to be interesting, or bad enough to be interesting, (the latter would have been preferable), but the titles of the pieces say it all. Just for amusement, see if you can imagine the paintings that go with these titles, and see if you can get through this list without cringing…

Radiant Statuette
Earthwork: Moorland Fragments
Day’s End
Two Connecting Polyps
Fragility and Strength. No. 2
A Venetian Backwater
Low Tide at Staithes
Sentinels over Givendale
Minster Angels
Ann
Ivor
Barry
Phillipa
Amy J
Cafe
Hounded by Heads
Dream Catcher
Lost Clown with Little Lamb

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, existentialism, Hull.UK., humour, information, observations, painting, serendipity, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hm, I think I’ll give it the title ‘Radiant Statuette’…

  1. memadtwo says:

    I like “Hounded by Heads” myself.

Leave a Reply

